KR- AMNESIA MIXTAPE + EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW

So KR is the homie and i had to put his new mixtape called AMNESIA on here (DOWNLOAD LINK AVAILABLE AFTER THE INTERVIEW) because it was just so dope to me. the concept, the lyrics.. just everything about the mixtape was dope. It’s really exciting to hear just how talented hip hop artists from Michigan really are.. and KR just adds to the list of those dope emcees.

CLICK HERE TO FOLLOW KR ON TWITTER!!!!!

Brothers JFin (left) & KR (right) Performing

I did a personal online interview with KR just so people can get a little insight to who he is and what he’s all about.

Here’s the interview:

So i’ll kick this off by asking you some basic questions:

So where did the name KR come from? When I decided I was really interested in pursuing Hip-Hop, I had no name. Well, I had a name but it was taken (Red Alert). I wanted a name that would symbolize what I did with lyrics, and to have a red alert obviously symbolized an emergency. When I found out I couldn’t use “Red Alert” I still wanted to have a name that had the same idea. Mountain Dew Code Red had just came out and I remember finishing a bottle during lunch and deciding to use “Code Red” as my name. I changed the spelling to Kode Redd to avoid copyright infringement, and eventually shortened it to KR after someone made a joke about me having the same name as a woman’s “time of the month”. I bullshit you not. I still remember who said it, but I don’t want to put them on blast.


How long have you been rapping and what has been your inspiration? I’ve been rapping since I was 13. I used to rap on Windows Sound Recorder and burn my own CDs of my (terrible) freestyles. My inspiration was the combination of being dumped by my girlfriend and the release of the Marshall Mathers LP . In hindsight it sounds stupid, but I was so hurt and angry behind being dumped that once I heard Eminem’s hurt and angry music I wanted to make my own.

What has been your favorite work from yourself? (mixtape, song, ect) and why? Favorite Mixtape: The Chain of Memories, because it’s like my baby. I know that shit sounds cliche, but there were so many things that happened to me between the time I started and finished that mixtape.

Favorite Song: It’s hard to pick one, but “Krack is Back” from The Chain of Memories is my all-time favorite track I’ve done. Just because it really has stood the test of time. I wrote that song almost five years ago and people who hear it for the first time even now just appreciate the energy-it’s not even the most lyrically dense song I’ve ever made, it’s just a fun song that I just let loose on.

What are your future plans as far as your rap career goes? I just want to make good music and get it out to as many people as possible. All the other shit will come. Of course I want to be mentioned in the same breath as the legends one day, but why think of the Hall of Fame when you haven’t made the All-Star team yet?

Now for AMNESIA…

How did the idea of the mixtape come about? “Amnesia” started off a lot smaller than I made it. I’d been working on The Chain of Memories II for about a year and a half, and the concepts of how mixtapes were being put together were changing. I credit Drake’s “So Far Gone” and JFin’s “Infinity & Beyond.” for changing the direction of “The Chain of Memories II”. There’s an entire mixtape I’ve scrapped, and “Amnesia” is part of it. So what you’re hearing in Amnesia is the old Chain of Memories II. I wanted The Chain II to have a more original feel and not feel stifled by people knowing I’m riding other people’s beats. People fucked with that in The Chain of Memories I, but I had to switch it up.

Don’t get it twisted though, these “leftovers” are far from it and I actually rerecorded almost all of the tracks to give them an updated feel. I also was very meticulous in choosing which tracks I wanted to use and how I was going to use them to tie it into The Chain of Memories “mantra” if you will.

I named it Amnesia, because I’m basically saying all my listeners have amnesia because it’s been such a long time since The Chain of Memories. Those memories are gone…so by the outro of the mixtape you’re slowly getting your memories back. Which leads into The Chain of Memories II.

How does Amnesia differ from anything you’ve ever done? It differs because this was probably the most premeditated I’ve been with any piece of work leading up to this. Usually every track I recorded was a sure thing to be put out, but I’ve gotten to the point where I only put out what I feel makes sense at the time. Truth be told one of the tracks on there, “My Dream Girl” is about three years old. I just waited for the right opportunity to put it out. I want everything I do from now on to be calculated and make sense in relation to the next body of work I put out.

Who can we see featured on this mixtape? Family shit, Royalty Entertainment: JFin and Dizee.

If you can choose what your favorite song on the mixtape is what would it be and why? Hard to say. I’d probably say “Damn” is my favorite track, just because it’s the most introspective track and sets the tone for the mixtape. It means a lot to me, and I think a lot of people can relate to the overall message, especially those of us grinding to achieve our goals but have to work some shitty 9-5 or find some shitty 9-5 knowing it ain’t what you want to do with your life.

Last but not least, what is your next move? What are you dropping next and when can we expect to hear it? My next move is to continue creating great music. People have been asking me when me and JFin are going to do a mixtape together. Hopefully we can get that popping off sometime in the near future. The Chain of Memories II is about three weeks from completion. Expect to hear more great things, and even after that look out for more music. I’m 23 years old now, it’s time to make it happen.

Alright, so you read the interview and now its time to present the Amnesia Mixtape to you. I love the mixtape. KR’s flow, lyrics, beats, concepts.. it was very well. At some parts it is also very humorous. Basically, from beginning to end Amnesia is never boring, always dope, and will definitely get you hyped up for Chain Of Memories 2 which as stated in the interview is “About three weeks from completion.” That will definitely be posted on here so  be on the lookout for another interview along with the album.

Amnesia Blue

Amnesia Blue (Back)

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD KR- AMNESIA

CLICK HERE TO ADD KR ON TWITTER!!!

DONT SLEEP!!


Leave a Reply

